The Willows City Council is composed of five council members elected to staggered four-year terms. There is an election each November of even numbered years. In cases where a council member is unable to complete a term, the Council can appoint a replacement, but that position will be subject to a vote at the next general election.

The Council selects a mayor and vice mayor from among its members to serve a one year term. The mayor presides over the council meetings, which are held on the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month. Council meetings begin at 6:00 p.m. in the City Council Chambers located at 201 N. Lassen Street in Willows.

In addition to the regularly scheduled meetings, council members attend numerous additional committee meetings.

Richard Thomas

201 N. Lassen St
Willows, CA 95988

Department Hours

  • Sun: Closed
  • Mon: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
  • Tue: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
  • Wed: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
  • Thu: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
  • Fri: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
  • Sat: Closed

Mayor Richard Thomas

Richard Thomas headshot

Vice Mayor David Vodden

David Vodden headshot

Council Member Gary Hansen

Gary Hansen headshot

Council Member Evan Hutson

Evan Hutson headshot

Council Member Forrest Sprague

Forrest Sprague headshot